Tokyo 2015.

Finally!! The entry on my last personal trip for the year 2015 is out!

So I was headed to Tokyo Japan once again… this time with a different group of people, my ex-colleagues from the last workplace! We wouldn’t have attempted on this trip if JC hadn’t initiated for this one as we weren’t super close working partners in the workplace. But as I was familiar having been to Japan before, I gamely accepted it, although fully stressed because I knew I’ll be the “tour guide” or “tour leader” for this trip. There were a lot of things to figure out, such as  Japan’s complex metro subway network, intricate map of Tokyo, etc. Those street names although they have an English interpretation of it, they are forever so hard to remember. We even got a lil lost at Narita AP when we were trying to locate the place to get the discounted train tickets from AP to the city and back to AP on the last day. I was lugging a 13kg luggage that contained autumn clothes for my 8D7N stay as well as a 1.5l mineral water bottle (a habit of mine when I visit less developed countries or countries with undrinkable tap water). I could get the distilled water from their supermarkets but I tried to save some money lah! hehe. Anyway, a word of warning though, you will expect to see more pictures of ramen as you scroll down later in this entry. 😛

For the first 2 days, thank God for LY who used his data roaming to get us around Tokyo and even helped us to locate our hotel as due to some hitches in the logistics, we could only have our wifi egg delivered to us on the 2nd night of the trip.

#0: This was our first meal at a restaurant within walking distance from our hotel. Ramen meal was quite cheap and good.

#1: We popped by the Gundam cafe because ET was a huge fan of these robots and it was very near to Akihabara station. P/s: AKB48 cafe was just beside it as well.

#2: The weather was cool at air con temperatures but it was sunny in the morning and afternoons.

#3: After a super long working distance, we arrived at the Tokyo Metropolitan Building where we caught a glimpse of the beautiful skyline of Tokyo at no charge. The waiting in queue was what we had to endure after we finally found the building.

 

#4; This was the Ramen museum where they showcase all the types of ramen that is available in different parts of Japan.

#5: Cant remember where this ramen was from. But I didn’t quite like the texture and type of the noodles being used. It was thick like what we have over in Singapore – Mee Pok noodles. HAHA

#6 Kumamoto ramen which I did not get to taste when i was in Kyushu. How ironic that i am having it only now when I visit the ramen museum in Tokyo.

#7 A group pic of us outside the Ramen museum!

#8: We went to Disneysea! My 2nd time there and i wasn’t bored at the thought of going there a second time!


#10: The highlight of this trip! Although LY gave this a miss, but the 3 of us totally enjoyed it and sweated it out. We went for a mountain hike at Mt. Takao which was only about 500 m above the sea. But as we weren’t too prepared physically for this challenge, we made it still. Yes!

#11 That was the view of Tokyo midway up the mountain. Thank God for keeping us safe!

#12 I was in good exercise gear although my bag was quite heavy after carrying this thick sweater as I thought it might get windier or cooler uphill. But i was wrong. Probably the hordes of japanese warmed the entire climate over there. HEHEHE.

#13 Ramen after ramen.. and ramen again!
  

#16 Rainbow bridge and the waters that linked Tokyo up with this reclaimed island called Odaiba. It was raining hence the picture looks foggy like that. The rain made us all wet and cold but the shopping was good!

WE LOVE JAPAN!!!

Ok.. there weren’t as many pictures as expected since my handphone was spoilt.. I didn’t bring out the DSLR because I wasn’t going to be carrying it around everyday when all the walking would have exhausted me totally. But I am glad this trip was a success! Feel free to ask me any questions by leaving a comment below as I will try my best to answer you on your questions about this trip. And before i end this post… again…

WE LOVE LOVE LOVE JAPAN!!! 

xo, thedarktraveler

Leave a Reply

